Open Session

4EU+ Annual Meeting 2020

To be broadcasted online on YouTube.

Welcome by the Rectors, Ambassadors, European Commissioner, Members of the Czech Government

  • Welcome by CU Rector Tomáš Zima

  • Welcome by the Minister of Foreign Affairs Tomáš Petříček

  • Greetings by the Deputy Minister of Education Václav Velčovský

  • Greetings by the ambassadors

  • President of Sorbonne University Jean Chambaz: achievements of 4EU+ in 2020

  • Rector of Charles University Tomáš Zima: Priorities of 4EU+ under the GB Chair of CU Rector Tomáš Zima

  • Greetings by the European Commissioner Mariya Gabriel

Reports from the micro think-tanks sessions

  • Report of the outcomes from the three micro think-tanks by student co-chairs

    • Topic 1: Just Wishful Thinking? The claim of synergy between research and teaching in 4EU+

      Janathan Juarez Altuzar (HU)

    • Topic 2: 4EU+ and Europe: Can 4EU+ make us better Europeans? Can 4EU+ strengthen Europe? And should it? If yes, how?

      Eliška Černovská (CU)

    • Topic 3: Mobility, connectivity, exchange: Which mix of modes cooperating within 4EU+ works best? What can be gained by certain modes? And what is lost?

      Bret Doerksen (UM)

Key topic: 4EU+ as a prototype for synergy between research and education

  • Presentation of one successful project per Flagship

    • Flagship 1: Urban Health Case Challenge

    • Flagship 2: Cooperative Network Philotrans

    • Flagship 3: Joint master degree in Mathematics and Applications

    • Flagship 4: Extension of competences and knowledge-based education of natural hazards and environmental change

  • Round-table discussion with representatives of the European Commission, Rectors and students, moderated by Tomáš Zima, Rector of Charles University

    • Vanessa Debiais-Sainton, Head of the Unit Higher Education, DG EAC

    • Apostolia Karamali, Head of Unit Academic R&I and Research Organisations, DG RTD

    • Bernhard Eitel, Rector of Heidelberg University

    • Henrik C. Wegener, Rector of the University of Copenhagen

    • Student representatives

      • Mike Gudbergsen (UCPH)

      • Julia Kostro (UW)

      • Bérangère Poncet (SU)