Chair of the 4EU+ Governing Board

Jean Chambaz

President at Sorbonne University

Jean Chambaz is a professor of Cellular Biology and former Director of the Cordeliers Research Center. His institutional leadership positions include President of Pierre & Marie Curie University and following the merger with Paris-Sorbonne, he was elected President of Sorbonne University in 2017. His activities in University Associations include: chair of the League of European Research Universities (LERU) in 2018; board member of the European University Association (EUA) from 2015 to 2018; and President of the Coordination of French Research-Intensive Universities (CURIF) from 2014 to 2018.

4EU+ Central Office

Volker Balli

4EU+ Secretary General

Volker Balli (PhD) has been working in the fields of internationalization and innovative Higher Education since 2012. He was Academic Director of the Studium Individuale at Leuphana University Lüneburg and a founding team member in charge of the interdisciplinary major in Governance at the University College Freiburg. He initiated and led the Erasmus+ Strategic Partnership CREATES that promotes co-creation in teaching and learning. Earlier posts include Post-Doctoral Researcher positions at the Universities of Bremen and Trento. Volker Balli received a first degree in European Studies from the London School of Economics, an MA in European Administrative Studies from the College of Europe, Bruges. He received a PhD in the Social and Political Sciences from the European University Institute, Florence, with a thesis on the self-understanding of the European Union.

4EU+ Management Committee

Lenka Rovná

Charles University

Marc Weller

Heidelberg University

Prof. PhDr. Lenka Rovná, CSc. is the Vice-Rector for European Affairs of Charles University and a Professor at its Department of European Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences. She is publishing and teaching in the field of European Politics and British History and Politics. She is a member of the Executive Board of Coimbra Group, member of Steering Committee and Academic Council of Europaeum, member of the Advisory Board for CERGU, Sweden, etc. Lenka Rovná was an Alternate to the Czech government representative to the Convention on the Future of Europe. She was awarded the title Chavaliere de l’Ordre National du Merite and Officier de l’Ordre du Merite by the French President.

Prof. Dr. Marc-Philippe Weler is the Vice-Rector for International Affairs at Heidelberg University and director of the Institute for Comparative Law, Conflict of Laws and International Business law. As Vice-Rector he is responsible for the international partnerships of the university (including 4EU+) as well as the university’s liaison offices abroad (Santiago de Chile, New York, Delhi, Kyoto). Prof. Weller studied law in Heidelberg and Montpellier. Following his first state examination, he completed his PhD at Heidelberg University and his post-doctoral dissertation (“Habilitation”) at the University of Cologne. Prof. Weller has taught at the universities of Munich, Mannheim and Freiburg and has completed multiple guest professorships around the world.

Serge Fdida

Sorbonne University

Kirsten Busch Nielsen

University of Copenhagen

Serge Fdida is currently Vice President of International Development and professor of computer science at the Faculty of Sciences and Engineering of Sorbonne University. His field of research covers technologies and architectures of the Internet. He continues to coordinate several European and international research programs on these themes. Serge Fdida also has extensive experience in technology transfer. He has held several positions as research director or evaluator within the CNRS, INRIA and international bodies. He was successively Vice President in charge of Europe the VP for international partnerships from 2012 to 2017.

Kirsten Busch Nielsen is professor of theology. Her research falls within contemporary Protestant theology with a focus on anthropology, ecclesiology and questions concerning religion and society on which she has published monographs and articles. Kirsten Busch Nielsen has served on numerous boards and committees within Higher Education both nationally and internationally and she has extensive leadership experience. Currently, she serves Dean of the Faculty of Humanities at the UCPH.

Antonella Baldi

University of Milan

Maciej Duszczyk

University of Warsaw

Antonella Baldi is Full Professor in Animal Nutrition at the University of Milan, where she serves as Vice-Rector for Internationalization since 2018. Her main interests in research are the role of animal nutrition and welfare in the production of high quality and healthy food of animal origin, in particular milk. She has been very involved in the activities of COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology). She has held the position of Vice-President of the Association for Science and Animal Production (ASPA) and has been member of the board of European Association of Animal Production. She is Editor of the Journal “Animal” in the section of Product Quality, Human Health and Well-being.

Maciej Duszczyk is the Vice-Rector for Research and International Relations, University of Warsaw, and Member of the Board of Centre of Migration Research. In 2008-2011 – Member of the Board of Strategic Advisers to the Prime Minister of Poland. In 2011-2013 – Head of Task Force for Migration Policy in the Chancellery of the President of Poland. In 2014-2015 Visiting Professor at the Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg and the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena. Member of the Transatlantic Forum on Migration and Integration. His research interests: migration, integration policy, social policy, and European integration.

4EU+ Local Offices

If you have any question, you can contact the 4EU+ office at each of our universities:

Charles University:

Heidelberg University:

Sorbonne University:


University of Copenhagen:


University of Milan:

University of Warsaw:

General queries about the 4EU+ Alliance can be addressed to: